Anatomy of a Tarot Deck

2f378557-c876-41c3-9e53-8b2b3dbce2c8_1_201_aA Tarot Deck consists of 78 cards divided into the Major Arcana of 22 trumps and the Minor Arcana of 56 cards divided into 4 suits, each consisting of 10 pips and 4 court cards.

If we think of the theatre as an analogy, the majors would be the set, setting the overarching conditions.  The pips would be the scenes with their individual and more specific dialogue and activity, and the courts would be the cast.

%d bloggers like this: